RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texans and tourists from across the nation benefit
- 2 greatly from the dedicated efforts of the employees of the State
- 3 Preservation Board; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This vital state agency is responsible for the
- 5 housekeeping, maintenance, and groundskeeping of the historic
- 6 buildings in the Capitol Complex, and it approves all construction,
- 7 repair, and renovation work; the agency also provides educational
- 8 and curatorial services, runs the Capitol Visitors Center and gift
- 9 shops, offers guided tours to the public, schedules and manages
- 10 public events, and operates the visitors parking garage; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Executive director John Sneed oversees the State
- 12 Preservation Board with the able assistance of the executive staff,
- 13 Christopher Currens, Linda Gaby, Shawn Goodnight, Dale Hernandez,
- 14 Alice James, Cynthia Provine, and Ann Vay, as well as the skilled
- 15 members of the finance and accounting department, Lindsey Alvarado,
- 16 Barbara Hanus, Anita Linscomb, Deanna Wall, Zhou Wu, and Monica
- 17 Young; the agency's work further benefits from the support of its
- 18 administrative personnel, David Byers, Andre Bygrave, William
- 19 Cromer, Robert Davis, Kimberley Ellars, Jane Falkenberg, Patricia
- 20 Hernandez-Ruiz, Rachel Ramirez, Valerie Rockwell, and Helen
- 21 Sumers; and
- WHEREAS, The curatorial staff consists of Richard Eisenhour,
- 23 Michelle Lambing, and Paige Weed; offering educational tours are
- 24 Ashley Barnes, Matthew D'Agostino, Elizabeth Reid, Alana Rooke,

- 1 Jenna Archuletta, Eric Boedy, Elizabeth Garzone, Katherine Ricks,
- 2 Kandace Russell, R. Kyle Schlafer, Kyle Walker, Cat McGrath-Farmer,
- 3 William Padgett, Aaron Smith, Leslie Covington, Jason Crouch,
- 4 Adriel Greene, Byron King, Nancy Korzilius, Diandra Maldonado, Roni
- 5 Morales, Justin Odom, Margie Paz, James Poland, Sarah Robinson,
- 6 Karen Rohe, Kimberly Thurman, Comfort Tysen, Esther Van Hout, Nora
- 7 Winslow, Amy Wolfgang, Georgia Zunker, and Nicholas Edwards; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Members of the public are welcomed every day to the
- 9 Capitol and the Visitors Center by these friendly staffers: Sheryl
- 10 Baker, Victor Hotho, Derek Lemons, Nancy Hennessy, Marlon Kelley,
- 11 Joe Lung, William Mixon, Ann Vargas, Lillian Westhead, Misha
- 12 Woodall, Angela Carver, Gina Filipponi, and Angelia Hennigan; other
- 13 essential members of the SPB team are Michael Coronado, Elizabeth
- 14 Deutchman, and Karen Griffin at the retail warehouse and Irene
- 15 Arispe, Jasen Fonseca, Gladys Howard, Maria Martinez, Charles
- 16 McGuire, Brenda Miller, John Morrow, and Amanda Remillard at the
- 17 visitors parking garage; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The outstanding employees who are responsible for
- 19 the care and maintenance of these treasured landmarks are Steven
- 20 Aguirre, Bob Cash, Kevin Koch, Mark Lindsey, Joe Medina, and
- 21 Douglas Young of facilities management, Eric Avery, Tommy Bailey,
- 22 Roberto Benavides, Roger Calkins, Regis Cannon, Delbert Friar,
- 23 Ricky Grimes, William Hoes, William Kleinebecker, Terry Pyle,
- 24 Lawrence Starkes, Robert Tamayo, Vincent Tamayo, Alejandro
- 25 Villalobos, and William Wilson of the maintenance crew, Maria
- 26 Alvarado, Lawrence Aros, Betty Benavides, Laura Cuellar, Sylvia
- 27 Daniels, Eliceo Hernandez, Diane Magallanez, Chinh Nguyen, Aida

- 1 Robles, Maria Rodriguez, Gregory Taylor, Flora Torres, Maria
- 2 Montero, and Neil Niemann of the housekeeping team, and Antonio
- 3 Delgado, Jeffery Dickerson, Richard Grube, and Hector Medrano of
- 4 the groundskeeping staff; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Through their dedicated stewardship of a rich
- 6 legacy, the men and women of the State Preservation Board are
- 7 rendering a vital service to the people of Texas and introducing
- 8 countless visitors to the remarkable story of the Lone Star State;
- 9 now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby honor the State Preservation Board and recognize
- 12 its employees for their exemplary service; and, be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 14 prepared for the State Preservation Board as an expression of high
- 15 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Howard

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3583 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House