By: Watson, Fraser, Kolkhorst

S.B. No. 495

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1 AN ACT 2 relating to the service areas of certain junior college districts. 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: Δ SECTION 1. Section 130.166, Education Code, is amended to read as follows: 5 AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE 6 Sec. 130.166. 7 AREA. The service area of the Austin Community College District includes the territory within: 8 (1) Hays, [Gillespie,] Caldwell, and Blanco counties; 9 10 (2) Travis County, except the territory within the Marble Falls Independent School District; 11 12 (3) Williamson County, except the territory within the 13 Florence, Granger, Hutto, Lexington, Taylor, and Thrall independent school districts; 14 15 (4) [the part of the Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District located in Gonzales County; 16 17 $\left[\frac{(5)}{(5)}\right]$ the part of the San Marcos Consolidated Independent School District located in Guadalupe County; 18 19 (5) [(6)] Bastrop County, except the territory within the Lexington Independent School District; 20 21 (6) [(7)] the part of the Elgin Independent School 22 District located in Lee County; and 23 (7) [(8)] the part of the Smithville Independent 24 School District located in Fayette County.

1

S.B. No. 495 1 SECTION 2. Section 130.171, Education Code, is amended to 2 read as follows: CENTRAL TEXAS COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA. Sec. 130.171. 3 4 The service area of the Central Texas College District includes the territory within: 5 (1)the Killeen Independent School District, located 6 7 in Bell County; the Copperas Cove Independent School District, 8 (2) 9 located in Coryell County; (3) Fort Hood and North Fort Hood, located in Bell 10 11 County; Coryell, Gillespie, Hamilton, Lampasas, Llano, 12 (4) 13 Mason, Mills, and San Saba counties; the Brady, Lohn, and Rochelle independent school 14 (5) 15 districts located in McCullough County; 16 (6) the Burnet Consolidated Independent School District located in Burnet County; 17 (7) the Florence Independent School District; 18 the part of the Lampasas Independent 19 (8) School District that is located in Burnet County; 20 21 (9) the part of the Lampasas Independent School District that is located in Bell County; 22 the part of the Copperas Cove Independent School 23 (10) 24 District that is located in Bell County; and 25 (11)the Marble Falls Independent School District. SECTION 3. Section 130.208, Education Code, is amended to 26 27 read as follows:

2

S.B. No. 495

Sec. 130.208. THE VICTORIA COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA.
 The service area of The Victoria College District includes the
 territory within:

4 (1) Victoria, Lavaca, DeWitt, <u>Gonzales</u>, and Calhoun 5 counties;

6 (2) Jackson County, except the territory within the
7 Ganado Independent School District; and

8 (3) Refugio County, except the territory within the
9 Woodsboro Independent School District[; and

10 [(4) Gonzales County, except the territory within the 11 Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District].

SECTION 4. The change in law made by this Act applies beginning with the 2015 fall semester, except that during the 2015-2016 academic year the Austin Community College District may continue to treat the areas removed by this Act from the district's service area as if the areas were still in the district's service area as necessary to avoid an unreasonable interruption of junior college services in the areas.

19 SECTION 5. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives 20 a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as 21 provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this 22 Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this 23 Act takes effect September 1, 2015.

3