S.B. No. 495

- 1 AN ACT
- 2 relating to the service areas of certain junior college districts.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 4 SECTION 1. Section 130.166, Education Code, is amended to
- 5 read as follows:
- 6 Sec. 130.166. AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE
- 7 AREA. The service area of the Austin Community College District
- 8 includes the territory within:
- 9 (1) Hays, [Gillespie, Caldwell, and Blanco counties;
- 10 (2) Travis County, except the territory within the
- 11 Marble Falls Independent School District;
- 12 (3) Williamson County, except the territory within the
- 13 Florence, Granger, Hutto, Lexington, Taylor, and Thrall
- 14 independent school districts;
- 15 (4) [the part of the Nixon-Smiley Consolidated
- 16 Independent School District located in Conzales County;
- 17 $\left[\frac{(5)}{}\right]$ the part of the San Marcos Consolidated
- 18 Independent School District located in Guadalupe County;
- 19 <u>(5)</u> [(6)] Bastrop County, except the territory within
- 20 the Lexington Independent School District;
- 21 $\underline{(6)}$ [$\overline{(7)}$] the part of the Elgin Independent School
- 22 District located in Lee County; and
- 23 (7) [(8)] the part of the Smithville Independent
- 24 School District located in Fayette County.

- 1 SECTION 2. Section 130.171, Education Code, is amended to
- 2 read as follows:
- 3 Sec. 130.171. CENTRAL TEXAS COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA.
- 4 The service area of the Central Texas College District includes the
- 5 territory within:
- 6 (1) the Killeen Independent School District, located
- 7 in Bell County;
- 8 (2) the Copperas Cove Independent School District,
- 9 located in Coryell County;
- 10 (3) Fort Hood and North Fort Hood, located in Bell
- 11 County;
- 12 (4) Coryell, Gillespie, Hamilton, Lampasas, Llano,
- 13 Mason, Mills, and San Saba counties;
- 14 (5) the Brady, Lohn, and Rochelle independent school
- 15 districts located in McCullough County;
- 16 (6) the Burnet Consolidated Independent School
- 17 District located in Burnet County;
- 18 (7) the Florence Independent School District;
- 19 (8) the part of the Lampasas Independent School
- 20 District that is located in Burnet County;
- 21 (9) the part of the Lampasas Independent School
- 22 District that is located in Bell County;
- 23 (10) the part of the Copperas Cove Independent School
- 24 District that is located in Bell County; and
- 25 (11) the Marble Falls Independent School District.
- SECTION 3. Section 130.208, Education Code, is amended to
- 27 read as follows:

- 1 Sec. 130.208. THE VICTORIA COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA.
- 2 The service area of The Victoria College District includes the
- 3 territory within:
- 4 (1) Victoria, Lavaca, DeWitt, Gonzales, and Calhoun
- 5 counties;
- 6 (2) Jackson County, except the territory within the
- 7 Ganado Independent School District; and
- 8 (3) Refugio County, except the territory within the
- 9 Woodsboro Independent School District[; and
- 10 [(4) Gonzales County, except the territory within the
- 11 Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District].
- 12 SECTION 4. The change in law made by this Act applies
- 13 beginning with the 2015 fall semester, except that during the
- 14 2015-2016 academic year the Austin Community College District may
- 15 continue to treat the areas removed by this Act from the district's
- 16 service area as if the areas were still in the district's service
- 17 area as necessary to avoid an unreasonable interruption of junior
- 18 college services in the areas.
- 19 SECTION 5. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives
- 20 a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
- 21 provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this
- 22 Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
- 23 Act takes effect September 1, 2015.

President of the Senate Speaker of the House
I hereby certify that S.B. No. 495 passed the Senate o
March 23, 2015, by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0.
Secretary of the Senate
I hereby certify that S.B. No. 495 passed the House o
May 22, 2015, by the following vote: Yeas 140, Nays 0, tw
present not voting.
Chief Clerk of the House
Approved:
Date
Governor