1-1 Watson, Fraser, Kolkhorst S.B. No. 495 By: (In the Senate - Filed February 9, 2015; February 11, 2015, read first time and referred to Committee on Higher Education; 1-2 1-3 March 16, 2015, reported favorably by the following vote: Yeas 6, 1-4 1-5 Nays 0; March 16, 2015, sent to printer.)

1-6 COMMITTEE VOTE

1-15

1-16

1-19

1-20 1-21

1-22 1-23

1-24

1-25 1-26 1-27 1-28

1-29

1-30

1-31

1-32

1-33

1-34

1-35

1-36

1-37 1-38

1-39 1-40

1-41

1-42

1-43 1-44

1-45

1-46

1 - 47

1-48

1-49

1-50

1-51

1-52

1-53

1-54

1-55

1-56

1-57

1-58

1-59

1-7		Yea	Nay	Absent	PNV
1-8	Seliger	X			
1-9	West			X	
1-10	Bettencourt	X			
1-11	Burton	X			
1-12	Menendez	X			
1-13	Perry	X			
1-14	Watson	Х			

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

relating to the service areas of certain junior college districts.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 1-17 1-18

SECTION 1. Section 130.166, Education Code, is amended to read as follows:

Sec. 130.166. AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE The service area of the Austin Community College District includes the territory within:

(1) Hays, [Gillespie, Caldwell, and Blanco counties;

- (2) Travis County, except the territory within the Marble Falls Independent School District;
- Williamson County, except the territory within the (3) Granger, Florence, Hutto, Lexington, Taylor, and Thrall independent school districts;
- (4)[the part of the Nixon-Smiley Independent School District located in Conzales County;

 $\left[\frac{(5)}{(5)}\right]$ the part of the San Marcos Consolidated Independent School District located in Guadalupe County;

(5) [(6)] Bastrop County, except the territory within the Lexington Independent School District;

(6) [(7)] the part of the Elgin Independent School District located in Lee County; and

(7) [(8)] the part of the School District located in Fayette County. the Smithville Independent

SECTION 2. Section 130.171, Education Code, is amended to read as follows:

Sec. 130.171. CENTRAL TEXAS COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA. The service area of the Central Texas College District includes the territory within:

(1)the Killeen Independent School District, located in Bell County;

(2)the Copperas Cove Independent School District, located in Coryell County;

Fort Hood and North Fort Hood, located in Bell (3) County;

(4)Coryell, Gillespie, Hamilton, Lampasas, Llano, Mason, Mills, and San Saba counties;

(5) the Brady, Lohn, and Rochelle independent school districts located in McCullough County;

(6) the Burnet Consolidated Independent School District located in Burnet County;

> (7) the Florence Independent School District;

the part of the Lampasas (8) Independent School District that is located in Burnet County;

(9) the part of the Lampasas 1-60 Independent School 1-61 District that is located in Bell County;

S.B. No. 495

(11) the Marble Falls Independent School District.

SECTION 3. Section 130.208, Education Code, is amended to read as follows:

Sec. 130.208. THE VICTORIA COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA. The service area of The Victoria College District includes the territory within:

- (1) Victoria, Lavaca, DeWitt, <u>Gonzales</u>, and Calhoun counties;
- (2) Jackson County, except the territory within the Ganado Independent School District; and
- (3) Refugio County, except the territory within the Woodsboro Independent School District[; and

[(4) Gonzales County, except the territory within the Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District].

SECTION 4. The change in law made by this Act applies beginning with the 2015 fall semester, except that during the 2015-2016 academic year the Austin Community College District may continue to treat the areas removed by this Act from the district's service area as if the areas were still in the district's service area as necessary to avoid an unreasonable interruption of junior college services in the areas.

SECTION 5. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this Act takes effect September 1, 2015.

2-29 * * * * *

2-3

2-4

2-5

2-6

2-7

2-8

2-9

2**-**10 2**-**11

2-12

2-13

2-14

2**-**15 2**-**16

2**-**17 2**-**18

2-19 2-20 2-21

2-22

2-23

2-24 2-25 2-26

2-27