1-1 By: Huffman S.J.R. No. 66 1-2 1-3 (In the Senate - Filed March 13, 2015; March 25, 2015, read first time and referred to Committee on State Affairs; April 15, 2015, reported adversely, with favorable Committee 1-4 1-5 Substitute by the following vote: Yeas 7, Nays 2; April 15, 2015, 1-6 sent to printer.)

1-7 COMMITTEE VOTE

1-8		Yea	Nay	Absent	PNV
1-9	Huffman	Х			
1-10	Ellis	X			
1-11	Birdwell	X			
1-12	Creighton	X			
1-13	Estes		X		
1-14	Fraser		X		
1-15	Nelson	X			
1-16	Schwertner	X			
1-17	Zaffirini	Χ			

COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR S.J.R. No. 66 1-18

1-23

1-24

1-25

1-26 1-27

1-28 1-29

1-30

1-31 1-32

1-33

1-34

1-35 1-36 1-37

1-38

1-39

1-40 1-41 1-42

1-43

1-44 1-45

1-46 1-47 1-48

1-49

1-50 1-51 1-52 1-53

1-54 1-55 1-56 1-57

1-58 1-59

1-60

By: Huffman

1-19 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

proposing a constitutional amendment to provide for the governor's 1-20 1-21 1-22 and lieutenant governor's terms of office to begin at 10 a.m. on the day preceding the day the regular legislative session convenes.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTION 1. Section 4, Article IV, Texas Constitution, amended to read as follows:

Sec. 4. The Governor elected at the general election in 2018 $[\frac{1974}{}]$, and thereafter, shall be installed at 10 a.m. on the day preceding the day set by law for the convening of the regular session of the legislature [first Tuesday after the organization of the Legislature, or as soon thereafter as practicable, and shall hold $[\frac{his}{his}]$ office for the term of four years, or until <u>a</u> $[\frac{his}{his}]$ successor shall be duly installed. <u>The Governor</u> $[\frac{He}{his}]$ shall be at least thirty years of age, a citizen of the United States, and shall have resided in this State at least five years immediately preceding the [his] election.

SECTION 2. Section 16(a), Article IV, Texas Constitution,

is amended to read as follows:

(a) There shall also be a Lieutenant Governor, who shall be chosen at every election for Governor by the same voters, in the same manner, [continue in office for the same time,] and possess the same qualifications. The voters shall distinguish for whom they vote as Governor and for whom as Lieutenant Governor. The Lieutenant Governor shall hold office for a term of four years. Lieutenant Governor shall take office following the election, at 10 a.m. on the day preceding the day set by law for the convening of the regular session of the legislature, and shall serve thereafter the full term of years to which elected.

SECTION 3. The following temporary provision is added to the Texas Constitution:

TEMPORARY PROVISION. (a) This temporary provision applies to the constitutional amendment proposed by the 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, providing for the governor's and lieutenant governor's terms of office to begin the day preceding the day the

regular legislative session convenes.

(b) The amendments to Sections 4 and 16(a), Article IV, of this constitution apply to a person elected to the office of governor or lieutenant governor for a term beginning on or after January 1, 2019.

(c) This temporary provision expires January 1, 2020.

This temporary provision expires January 1, 2020.

SECTION 4. (a) This proposed constitutional amendment

C.S.S.J.R. No. 66

shall be submitted to the voters at an election to be held November 2-1 3, 2015, only if the secretary of state certifies that an enactment of the 84th Legislature, Regular Session:

- (1) provides for the canvass of election returns for the offices of governor and lieutenant governor by the attorney general; and
- (2) was not vetoed by the governor and becomes law contingent on adoption of this constitutional amendment by the voters.
- If the secretary of state does not make a certification under Subsection (a), this resolution has no effect.
- (c) If the election on this amendment is held, the ballot shall be printed to permit voting for or against the proposition: "The constitutional amendment to provide for the governor's and lieutenant governor's terms of office to begin at 10 a.m. on the day preceding the day the regular legislative session convenes."

* * * * * 2-17

2-2

2-3

2-4 2**-**5 2**-**6

2-7

2-8

2-9

2**-**10 2**-**11

2-12

2-13

2-14 2**-**15 2**-**16