SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 16

WHEREAS, The Texas Lyceum is celebrating the investiture of its 2015 president, Jane Cummins, in Austin on January 22, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Observing its 35th anniversary in 2015, the Texas Lyceum is dedicated to the Aristotelian pursuit of free and open discussion of societal concerns in order to reach a consensus for shaping a successful future; the organization's 96 directors strive to identify and develop the next generation of top leadership, to examine the interrelationships of the major issues facing the state, to foster a greater understanding of these issues among key decision makers, and to promote stewardship of Texas values, traditions, and resources; and

WHEREAS, The Lyceum draws its directors from across the state; active leaders in their communities, they are committed to the betterment of Texas through the organization, which conducts public forums, publishes the *Lyceum Journal*, commissions the Texas Lyceum Poll, and convenes programs for the directors; the diverse backgrounds, opinions, and expertise represented in the group contribute significantly to the meaningful exploration of constructive responses to the problems of the day; and

constructive responses to the problems of the day; and WHEREAS, For more than three decades, the Texas Lyceum has worked to advance quality of life in the Lone Star State, upholding a rich heritage of civic engagement, and it is indeed fitting to recognize the organization as it embarks on the next exciting chapter of its history; now, therefore, be it

exciting chapter of its history; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th
Legislature, hereby commemorate the investiture of Jane Cummins
as the 2015 president of the Texas Lyceum and commend the
organization for its 35 years of service; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Bettencourt

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 15, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate