## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 21

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Marcus Edward Hill, who is being honored with a Texas Agricultural Lifetime Achievement Award; and

WHEREAS, Marcus Hill began his distinguished leadership career when he was elected president of the Texas Future Farmers of America after graduating from high school; he began working for the National Farm Life Insurance Company while studying agricultural education at Texas A&M University, and upon earning his degree, he joined one of the company's subsidiaries, the Agricultural Workers Mutual Auto Insurance Company; and

WHEREAS, He ascended to the vice presidency of the Agricultural Workers Mutual Auto Insurance Company in 1982 and became president six years later; as president, he was instrumental in organizing two subsidiaries that expanded the company's opportunities, and in 2006, he was appointed the company's chairman of the board; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary leader in his field, Mr. Hill is dedicated to the state's continued agricultural success; he serves on numerous boards and educational advisory councils and can often be found at local stock shows and fairs supporting the next generation of agricultural leaders; and

WHEREAS, Marcus Hill is a widely respected and admired man who has received numerous awards for his outstanding service; he is indeed deserving of recognition as a lifelong steward of our state's thriving agricultural economy: now, therefore, be it

state's thriving agricultural economy; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Marcus Edward Hill for his extensive contributions to our state and congratulate him on receiving a Texas Agricultural Lifetime Achievement Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 21, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate