SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 25

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex Chapters of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, in honoring those sorority members who have achieved the membership milestone of 25 years at a special Founders Day Luncheon on January 24, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded in 1913 on the campus of Howard University; the organization strives to promote academic excellence, provide scholarships, improve communities, support the underserved, and encourage civic and political awareness and participation; and

WHEREAS, Sorority members being recognized by the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex Chapters for 25 years of membership are Andra Haskins, Marvis Lloyd Thomas, Teresa Hockett, Angela Taylor, Janetta Hill, Lolita Smith, Roslind Ann Burton, Roszetta Howell, Sonya Palmer, Darlene Marie Petit, Alicia Hill, Beverly Oaks, Eddie Ruth Jackson, Joy Thomas, Kimberly C. Whatley-Knight, Margaret Faust, Mary Savannah, Vickie Young Jackson, Carprinia Taylor, Monica Tunstle-Garrett, Sharon Phillips Clark, Belinda Clarkson, Lisa Evans, Sharon Simmons, Adrienne Donaldson-Steverson, Carmen Smith, Stephanie Barial Kendrick, Terrie Archer, Cindy Miller, LaBoore Hardaway Terrell, Myrna Mann, Tammy Thomas, Aliah Henry, Lisa Cooley-Thomas, Lometa Jones, and Tammi Abney; and

WHEREAS, These distinguished women are loyal members and have served as mentors and role models to countless sisters, and

they are truly deserving of recognition; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend these outstanding sorority members and extend to them congratulations on being honored by the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex Chapters as 25-year members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 21, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate