SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 27

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex Chapters of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, in honoring those sorority members who have achieved the membership milestone of 50 years at a special Founders Day Luncheon on January 24, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded in 1913 on the campus of Howard University; the organization strives to promote academic excellence, provide scholarships, improve communities, support the underserved, and encourage civic and political awareness and participation in the establishment of positive public policy; and

positive public policy; and WHEREAS, Sorority members being recognized by the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex Chapters for 50 years of membership are Dorothy Taylor, Cordelia R. Alexander, Dr. Lucille White, Joyce Tanner, and Patricia Paige; and

Joyce Tanner, and Patricia Paige; and WHEREAS, Over the years, these distinguished women have remained loyal members of the sorority and have served as mentors and role models to countless sisters; they are truly deserving of recognition for their longtime membership in Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and for the important role they have played in helping their individual chapters carry out their mission of service to the sorority and to the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend these outstanding sorority members on their many achievements and extend to them congratulations on being honored by the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex Chapters as 50-year members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 21, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate