SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 57

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the North Plains Groundwater Conservation District on the occasion of its 60th anniversary, which is being celebrated January 21, 2015; and

WHEREAS, The North Plains Groundwater Conservation District was established after the Texas Legislature created a framework for local water management agencies with the 1949 passage of the Groundwater Conservation District Act; the State Board of Water Engineers designated the area north of the Canadian River as Subdivision Number 2; and

WHEREAS, The voters of Hartley, Moore, Sherman, Hansford, Hutchinson, and Ochiltree Counties established the North Plains Groundwater Conservation District on January 21, 1955, to protect groundwater resources in the region; in the intervening years, Dallam and Lipscomb Counties have been incorporated into the coalition; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, the district has been instrumental in creating and enforcing rules and standards for groundwater production while educating stakeholders about conservation; the district has reached out to thousands of students through its Save Our Planet's Water Festivals and has received numerous honors, including the 2011 Blue Legacy Award for Agriculture and the 2012 Texas Environmental Excellence Award for Agriculture; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend the North Plains Groundwater

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend the North Plains Groundwater Conservation District on its exemplary efforts to preserve and protect our state's water resources and extend to its members best wishes for a memorable 60th anniversary celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the district as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Seliger

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 26, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate