SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 64

WHEREAS, School board members play an integral role in the education of our children, and the observance of School Board Recognition Month in January 2015 provides a welcome opportunity to honor the trustees of the Mission Consolidated Independent School District; and

WHEREAS, Located in Hidalgo County, the Mission Consolidated Independent School District encompasses 23 schools and serves a student population of over 15,000; the seven school board members who oversee this district work closely with superintendent Ricardo López, as well as with parents, teachers, and community leaders to ensure an optimal learning environment for all students; and

WHEREAS, The board is ably led by president Patricia O'Cana-Olivarez, vice president Patty Bazaldua, and secretary J. C. Avila; other members include Petra Ramirez, Minnie Rodgers, Roy Vela, and Veronica Mendoza; and

WHEREAS, Each of these notable Texans demonstrates an exemplary commitment to area students, and through their vision and leadership, they are contributing immeasurably to the future of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th
Legislature, hereby honor the members of the Mission
Consolidated Independent School District Board of Trustees on
the occasion of School Board Recognition Month and extend to them
sincere appreciation for their outstanding service to the
community; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Mission Consolidated Independent School District Board of Trustees as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 27, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate