SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 136

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the 50-year members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, who are being honored by Alpha Xi Omega Chapter at its 86th Anniversary Founders' Day Luncheon on February 21, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Xi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was established on June 6, 1929, through the efforts of Florence Harlee Phelps, who also served as the chapter's first president; through programs of service, the chapter has long worked to encourage young women to develop high standards of character and to strive for excellence in educational achievement, and it annually recognizes long-standing sorority members at its Founders' Day Luncheon; and

WHEREAS, The Golden Sorors being honored by Alpha Xi Omega Chapter for 50 years of service to Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority are Margaret Spraglin Bass, Sandra Lewing Clark, Beverly Kerl Mitchell Brooks, Cynthia B. Nunn, and Carolyn T C Roberson; over the years, they have remained loyal members of the sorority and have served as mentors and role models to countless sisters; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding women are truly deserving of recognition for their longtime membership in Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and for the important role they have played in helping Alpha Xi Omega Chapter fulfill its mission of encouraging high scholastic and ethical standards, promoting unity and friendship, addressing problems that concern girls and women, and being of service to all mankind; now, therefore, be it

and being of service to all mankind; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend the Golden Sorors on their 50 years of dedicated service and their many achievements and extend to them congratulations on being honored by Alpha Xi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority at its 2015 Founders' Day Luncheon; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 10, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate