## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 160

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Southwestern University on the grand occasion of its 175th anniversary, which was celebrated on February 5, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1840, Southwestern University was the first institution of higher education chartered in Texas, and today, it is recognized as one of the state's leading undergraduate liberal arts and sciences universities; and

WHEREAS, Throughout its proud history, this distinguished university has promoted values and actions that encourage contributions to the well-being of humanity, and its professors have remained committed to this philosophy and to balancing the highest levels of scholarship with dedication to the art of teaching; and

WHEREAS, The school's list of illustrious alumni includes United States senators, college presidents, Supreme Court justices, and bishops, and many graduates have moved on to become prominent doctors, ministers, attorneys, and community leaders; and

WHEREAS, For 175 years, Southwestern University has been engaging minds and transforming lives, and this special anniversary presents an opportunity to reflect on the university's outstanding contributions to the citizens of our state; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Southwestern University on 175 years of educational excellence and extend sincere best wishes to all associated with this premier institution; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Southwestern University as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 17, 2015.

## Secretary of the Senate