## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 198

WHEREAS, The Texas Christian University football team enjoyed an outstanding season during 2014, winning a share of the Big 12 Conference championship and earning recognition as one of the top teams in all of college football; and

WHEREAS, Texas Christian University began the year by overwhelming its opponents in nonconference play, notching commanding victories in the season's first three games before beginning Big 12 Conference play with an exciting 37-33 win over a highly ranked University of Oklahoma team; the Horned Frogs suffered their only defeat of the year in a tough loss to the Baylor Bears the following week, but the squad responded with a seven-game winning streak, including victories over Kansas State and Texas, to close out the regular season; and

WHEREAS, Though the Horned Frogs were disappointed to not be selected to take part in the inaugural College Football Playoff, they earned a bowl berth for the fifth time in the past six seasons; Texas Christian University wrapped up its exemplary season with a dominating win over the University of Mississippi in the Peach Bowl; the team jumped out to a four-touchdown lead in the first half, thanks in part to a pair of scores from running back Aaron Green, and they put the finishing touches on the 42-3 triumph with two touchdown passes from quarterback Trevone Boykin in the third quarter; and

WHEREAS, With an impressive 12-1 overall record, the Horned Frogs finished the year as the number three team in the nation in both the Associated Press Poll and the USA Today Top 25 Coaches Poll; the team's explosive offense averaged 533 yards and 46.5 points per game, ranking in the top five of each category among Football Bowl Subdivision schools; and

WHEREAS, Texas Christian University was guided by head coach Gary Patterson, who captured the Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year award from the Big 12 Conference; Mr. Boykin was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year and a second-team All-American after compiling 33 touchdown passes and 3,901 passing yards, and linebacker Paul Dawson earned first-team All-American honors as well as the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year award for his sterling senior season; teammates Jaden Oberkrom, Chris Hackett, Aaron Green, Josh Doctson, Joey Hunt, Halapoulivaati Vaitai, Chucky Hunter, Sam Carter, and Kevin White also received All-Big 12 recognition; and

WHEREAS, Playing with determination and teamwork, the Horned Frogs have continued their tradition of excellence on the gridiron, and they are a source of great pride for the students, alumni, and supporters of Texas Christian University; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby congratulate the Texas Christian University football team for its outstanding 2014 season and extend sincere best wishes to the team's players, coaches, and staff for continued achievement; and, be it further

S.R. No. 198

**RESOLVED,** That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Burton

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 18, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate