## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 216

## In Memory of Roberto Jose Vidaurri

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Roberto Jose Vidaurri, who died February 5, 2015, at the age of 89; and

WHEREAS, Roberto Vidaurri was born on May 7, 1925, in Nuestra Senora de Dolores Settlement in Zapata County; he was a proud member of a family that traces its roots to Captain Jose Vasquez Borrego, a pivotal figure in Texas history who was a pioneer among those receiving land grants from the king of Spain in the 18th century; and

WHEREAS, He and his beloved wife, the late Maria del Socorro Vidaurri, were blessed with eight children and with numerous grandchildren and great-grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, He served the nation with distinction in World War II as a member of the United States Marine Corps; he took part in the battle for Iwo Jima, and he received a Purple Heart for wounds sustained in combat; he was a lifelong rancher who was dedicated to his work and to preserving his family's legacy; and

to his work and to preserving his family's legacy; and

WHEREAS, He was a man of courage, strength, and integrity,
who gave generously to others, and his enthusiasm for living each
day to the fullest will not be forgotten; and

WHEREAS, Roberto Vidaurri was a devoted husband, father, and grandfather, and he leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th
Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved
family of Roberto Jose Vidaurri; and, be it further

family of Roberto Jose Vidaurri; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Roberto Vidaurri.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 23, 2015, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate