SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 254

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Al Ogletree, who has been named the 2015 Presidential Pillar by The University of Texas--Pan American; and

WHEREAS, Al Ogletree arrived at The University of Texas--Pan American in 1969 to serve as the Broncs' head baseball coach, after having led Sul Ross State University to the 1968 National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics World Series; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his stellar coaching career, he amassed 1,217 wins, with a record of 1,084-618-1 at The University of Texas--Pan American; he led the Broncs to the 1971 College World Series in Omaha, where the team finished fourth in the nation, and he was named the 1971 National Coach of the Year by the Sporting News; and

WHEREAS, The Broncs were a national power throughout the 1970s, and many of Coach Ogletree's players went on to play and coach professionally; known affectionately by his players and people throughout the Rio Grande Valley as Coach Al, he continues to be closely affiliated with the university; he and his late wife are being honored by the university with the naming of the plaza outside the baseball stadium the Al and Joann Ogletree Plaza; and

WHEREAS, Al Ogletree has had a profound impact on the lives
of countless young people, and he is truly deserving of special
recognition for his many achievements; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th
Legislature, hereby commend Al Ogletree on his legacy of

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Al Ogletree on his legacy of excellence at The University of Texas--Pan American and extend congratulations to him on being named the 2015 Presidential Pillar; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 24, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate