SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 264

In Memory of William Janke Kastrin

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of El Paso in mourning the loss of William Janke Kastrin, a beloved businessman and philanthropist who died February 10, 2015, at the age of 97; and

WHEREAS, Bill Kastrin, a third-generation El Pasoan, was born to a pioneering El Paso business family on July 26, 1917; he sought to make his city a better place through business and philanthropic endeavors that helped shape El Paso and turn it into the thriving West Texas gem it is today; and

WHEREAS, From an early age, Mr. Kastrin was determined to improve the world around him, and the El Paso landscape reflects many of his impressive achievements; in addition to overseeing the construction of several landmark buildings, he served on many charitable boards and anonymously donated land and funds to nonprofit organizations; and

WHEREAS, Though he was honored to serve his community, family was Mr. Kastrin's first true love, and he shared a life of culture and accomplishment with his wife of 69 years, the late Socorro Lozano Kastrin; they instilled in their children the importance of social obligation, and their lessons have been passed down to their grandchildren and great-grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Bill Kastrin was respected and beloved by all who were privileged to share in his life; he left an indelible mark on his family and the community, and his legacy will live on through

S.R. No. 264

the work of the many people he inspired throughout his lifetime; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of William Janke Kastrin; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of William Kastrin.

Rodriguez

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 25, 2015, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate