## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 269

WHEREAS, The Texas Cultural Trust is recognizing the 2015 Texas Medal of Arts Award winners at a gala event in Austin on February 24 and 25, 2015; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts Awards pay tribute to individual Texas artists as well as arts institutions and businesses that have made important contributions to a variety of artistic disciplines in the state, either through personal achievement or through generous support; and

WHEREAS, Those selected for the 2015 biennial awards are T Bone Burnett, Jamie Foxx, the Kilgore College Rangerettes, Rick Lowe, the Dr Pepper Snapple Group, Margaret McDermott, Emilio Nicholas, Dan Rather, Charles Renfro, Robert Schenkkan, Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts, Lawrence Wright, Chandra Wilson, Ruth Altshuler, and the Gatlin Brothers; and

WHEREAS, The arts greatly enhance the quality of life in Texas, and the creative individuals and committed patrons being honored by the Texas Cultural Trust have contributed immeasurably to the rich cultural tapestry of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2015 Texas Medal of Arts Awards and express deep appreciation for their dedication to the advancement of the arts in Texas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the award winners as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 25, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate