SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 299

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Ellis County Sheriff's Office Explorer Post 106, which won the Best in State trophy at the 2014 Texas Law Enforcement Explorer Advisors Association competition; and

WHEREAS, The Law Enforcement Explorer program provides educational training on the purpose, mission, and objectives of law enforcement to young men and women ages 14 through 20; the program seeks to prepare them for careers in the field and to encourage them to become responsible citizens; and

WHEREAS, The Ellis County Explorer program sent three teams to the state competition to compete in skill scenarios and individual challenges at The University of Texas at Arlington; Team A consisted of Captain Colten Prater, Lieutenant Coby Paschell, Sergeant Shelby Snodgress, and Corporal Gage Adams; Team B consisted of Sergeant Trevor Snodgress, Corporal Ross McRee, Brandy Slusher, and Tristian McQueen; and Team C consisted of Isaiah Bias, Luis Martinez, Matthew Aguilar, and Nadir Garcia; assisting as actors were Courtney Cline and Hannah Little; and

WHEREAS, The competition tested the skills of 93 Explorer teams from across the state; Ellis County team members received seven first-place awards, two second-place awards, and one third-place award; Team A attained an average score of 99.75 percent for their teamwork and knowledge of Texas law, and Deputy Jeff Prater, the local advisor for the post, was awarded the William H. Spurgeon III Award for his exemplary leadership; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Ellis County Explorer teams are dedicated to the betterment of their community, and they are indeed deserving of recognition for their outstanding achievements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend the members of Ellis County Sheriff's Office Explorer Post 106 for winning the 2014 Texas Law Enforcement Explorer Advisors Association competition; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the teams as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Birdwell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 2, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate