SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 360

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Harris County Historical Commission and the residents of Houston in celebrating the dedication of an official Texas Historical Marker at First Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church on March 15, 2015; and

WHEREAS, This historic church was established in 1891 as a place of worship for displaced residents of Shreveport who were forced to move after the flood of 1890; services were originally held in the homes of congregants and then in a rented hall on McMillan Street, and the church was commonly known as the Louisiana Church; and

WHEREAS, The first permanent sanctuary was erected on Providence Street in the early 1900s, and services were held at that location until the property was sold to the City of Houston in the early 1950s and the church moved to its current site on Lyons Avenue; and

WHEREAS, The church's new facility was designed by John Saunders Chase Jr., the state's first licensed African American architect; construction was completed in 1955, and the name of the church was changed to First Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, The church represents a proud history in the Fifth Ward and in the City of Houston; over the years, First Shiloh has been home to notable figures who made great contributions to the vitality of the community, and it is indeed fitting that a Texas Historical Marker be dedicated in its honor; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 360

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the history and legacy of First Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church and extend best wishes to the Harris County Historical Commission and the members of the church for a memorable dedication ceremony for the church's official Texas Historical Marker; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 11, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

2