SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 401

In Memory of David Silva

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Bee County Judge David Silva, who died March 16, 2015, at the age of 70; and

WHEREAS, David Silva was born on May 26, 1944, in Beeville; a 1963 graduate of A. C. Jones High School, he served the nation with distinction as a member of the United States Air Force; and

WHEREAS, He married Yolanda Olivares on July 11, 1970, and they shared 44 years of marriage together; they were blessed with two daughters, Cassandra and Cristianna, and a granddaughter, Audria; and

WHEREAS, He earned a master's degree from Texas A&I University in Corpus Christi, and he enjoyed a long and fulfilling career in academia at Bee County College, later known as Coastal Bend College; he was named Teacher of the Year on multiple occasions and served as chair of the Social Science Division; and

WHEREAS, After his retirement, he began a second career in public service; he served as a municipal court judge, and in 2006, he was elected Bee County Judge and became the first judge in the county to be elected to the office three times; he was active in a number of community organizations and served on several boards and committees; and

WHEREAS, Judge Silva was a man of courage, integrity, and strength, and his devotion to his family, his deep religious

1

S.R. No. 401

faith, and his enthusiasm for living each day to the fullest will not be forgotten by those who were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of David Silva; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of David Silva.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 19, 2015, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate