SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 402

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Kirk Edwards, who has been named the 2015 Entrepreneur of the Year by the Odessa Chamber of Commerce; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious honor is awarded each year to a member of the chamber who has exhibited sustained success, made innovations to products and services, been responsible for an increase in sales, responded effectively to challenges, and played an active role in the community; and

WHEREAS, Kirk Edwards is president and chief executive officer of Latigo Petroleum, LLC, which manages, operates, and exploits diverse oil and gas assets across the United States and Mexico; he also serves as lead manager for a number of energy and mineral interests, including those of the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas at Austin, Mr. Edwards has served on numerous boards and committees that have greatly contributed to the quality of life in the Permian Basin, including the Medical Center Hospital System Foundation and the Midland Odessa Transportation Initiative, and he is a member of the United Way Pillars Club; he served on the Odessa City Council and was inducted into the Odessa Business Hall of Fame, and he has worked tirelessly to bring Division II football to The University of Texas of the Permian Basin; and

WHEREAS, Kirk Edwards has had a profound impact on the energy industry and on the community of Odessa, and it is truly fitting that he receive special recognition for his many achievements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Kirk Edwards on his many contributions to his profession and his community and extend to him congratulations on being named the 2015 Entrepreneur of the Year; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Seliger

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 19, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate