SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 428

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women on the occasion of their visit to the Capitol on April 16, 2015; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Federation of Republican Women is one of the largest women's political organizations in the country; organized in 1955, 17 years after the National Federation of Republican Women was formed, it is widely recognized for its effectiveness in the election of Republican Party candidates to city, county, state, and national offices; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women spend countless hours researching issues and working on behalf of Republican Party candidates; their goals include education, training, and participation in government, and they have played a key role in encouraging Republican women to run for office; they also dedicate their efforts in support of community service programs and literacy projects; and

WHEREAS, The organization's officers for the 2014-2015 biennium are Jody Rushton, president; Debra Coffey, first vice president-special events; Theresa Kosmoski, vice president-bylaws; Janis Holt, vice president-finance; Cheri Creekmore, vice president-campaign activities; Rachel Woods, president-legislation; Kim Chambers, president-membership; Rhonda Lacy, vice president-programs; Gail Entrekin, treasurer; Carol Van De Walle, secretary; Carolyn Hodges, immediate past president; and Pam Meyercord, parliamentarian; and

S.R. No. 428

WHEREAS, Through the commitment, hard work, and dedication of federation members, women of all ages, ethnic groups, and backgrounds have an increased awareness of political issues and have recognized their importance in the political process; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women for their exemplary accomplishments and proclaim April 16, 2015, Texas Federation of Republican Women Legislative Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for this organization as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

Bettencourt	Estes	Nichols
Birdwell	Fraser	Perry
Burton	Hall	Schwertner
Campbell	Hancock	Seliger
Creighton	Huffines	Taylor of Galveston
Eltife	Huffman	Taylor of Collin
	Kolkhorst	

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 24, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate