SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 432

WHEREAS, For the past century, the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station has served as the state's engineering and technology development agency; and

WHEREAS, The station was established in August 1914, and in 1948, it was incorporated into The Texas A&M University System; today, the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station has a close relationship with Texas A&M University and partners with 15 other universities and 11 two-year colleges across the state; in carrying out its mission, it collaborates with communities, public school districts, the private sector, and the federal government; and

WHEREAS, Fostering innovation in research, education, and technology, the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station benefits industry and business in myriad ways; its outreach to community colleges helps to build the state's technology workforce and promotes the successful transfer of students from two-year to four-year institutions; in addition, the engineering experiment station serves as a catalyst for collaborations that enhance research capabilities statewide and that put Texas in a strong position for securing federal grants; and

WHEREAS, Over the past 100 years, the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station has spurred economic development and provided practical answers to critical state and national needs, and in so doing, it has contributed significantly to the quality of life in the Lone Star State and beyond; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commemorate the centennial of the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station and extend to all those associated with this outstanding institution sincere best wishes for continued success in their important work; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 25, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate