SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 447

WHEREAS, Collegiate and alumnae members of the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority are gathering in Austin on April 7, 2015, to mark Red and White Day, a day of advocacy and action, at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was initiated in 1913 at Howard University in Washington, D.C.; the 22 original members included four young women from Texas, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, and Myra Davis Hemmings, all committed to academic excellence and social change; members marched in a women's suffrage parade soon after, and they incorporated as a national organization in 1930; and

WHEREAS, Since its founding, more than 200,000 women have joined Delta Sigma Theta in the United States and several foreign countries; the sorority encompasses about 1,000 chapters, including many in the Lone Star State; members work toward positive change in their communities and advocate for economic development, international awareness, physical and mental health, and improved education; moreover, they mentor at-risk African American girls, conduct voter awareness drives, host political forums, and help guide and inform public policy; and

WHEREAS, The women of Delta Sigma Theta have enriched the State of Texas and the nation with their generosity and their wide array of programs and services, and it is indeed a pleasure to commend them for their noteworthy endeavors; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby recognize April 7, 2015, as Red and White Day

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby recognize April 7, 2015, as Red and White Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those involved with the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the sorority as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate