## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 466

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Jerry Huffman, who is retiring as president and chief executive officer of the Lufkin/Angelina County Chamber of Commerce after many years of outstanding service; and

WHEREAS, Jerry Huffman began his affiliation with the chamber in 1974; through the years, he has also served other organizations, including a stint as district director for United States Congressman Jim Turner; however, he has always returned to serve the people of Lufkin and the Texas Forest Country; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his tenure with the chamber, Mr. Huffman has developed and implemented a wide range of programs and initiatives that have had a profound impact on the area's business climate; he organized and developed the Small Business Development Center, the Lufkin Convention and Visitors Bureau, Leadership Lufkin, and the Angelina Arts Alliance; and

WHEREAS, He was instrumental in the resumption of the Texas State Forest Festival, which has been recognized as a Best Festival in Texas; under his leadership, the chamber was designated a 5-Star Accredited Chamber, the highest accreditation awarded by the United States Chamber of Commerce; and

WHEREAS, An award-winning executive and dedicated civic

WHEREAS, An award-winning executive and dedicated civic leader, he is respected and admired by his colleagues, and his presence with the Lufkin/Angelina County Chamber of Commerce will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Jerry Huffman on his exceptional service as president and chief executive officer of the Lufkin/Angelina County Chamber of Commerce and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nichols

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 31, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate