SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 486

WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Retired Teachers Association are gathering at the State Capitol to celebrate Texas Retired Teachers Association Day on April 8, 2015; and

WHEREAS, A resource and advocate for retired school personnel across the state with nearly 80,000 members, the association works diligently in behalf of current and future public education retirees; and

WHEREAS, The association promotes the financial soundness of the pension and retiree health care programs through its support of a strong teacher retirement system; annuity payments from the Teacher Retirement System of Texas have exceeded \$8.5 billion, creating approximately 113,000 jobs in the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, In addition, the association members devote time and energy to improving their local communities; each year, they give more than five and a half million hours of volunteer service, equivalent to a value of more than \$130 million; many of these volunteer hours are dedicated to schools, where these retired educators encourage reading by providing more than 700,000 books, including nearly 140,000 last year alone, to young Texans through the Children's Book Project; and

WHEREAS, Throughout its history, the Texas Retired Teachers Association has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to education and educators, and the members of this noteworthy organization are making a positive and lasting difference in the lives of countless residents of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 486

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby recognize April 8, 2015, as Texas Retired Teachers Association Day at the State Capitol and extend to the participants sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and informative visit; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Texas Retired Teachers Association as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Huffman

Bettencourt	Hall	Rodríguez
Birdwell	Hancock	Schwertner
Burton	Hinojosa	Seliger
Campbell	Huffines	Taylor of Galveston
Creighton	Kolkhorst	Taylor of Collin
Ellis	Lucio	Uresti
Eltife	Menéndez	Watson
Estes	Nelson	West
Fraser	Nichols	Whitmire
Garcia	Perry	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 8, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate