SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 514

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize David T. Newman on his 2015 induction into the Junior Achievement of Laredo Business Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Junior Achievement of Laredo works in partnership with business leaders and educators to inspire young people and prepare them to succeed in today's complex global economy; and

WHEREAS, David Newman grew up in Laredo and is a graduate of United High School; he joined B. P. Newman Investments in 1986 and demonstrated his determination to learn every facet of the business by working all positions at the company's Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen and Church's Chicken franchises; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Newman rose through the ranks and held the positions of manager, area manager, and director of operations, and today, as vice president, he oversees the management of 33 Church's Chicken locations across Texas, New Mexico, Louisiana, and Arkansas; under his leadership, the company has won numerous awards, including three franchise pillar awards for operations excellence and profitability; he has also served as a longtime member and as president of the Church's Independent Franchisee Association; and

WHEREAS, He is active in a variety of civic and philanthropic organizations, including Habitat for Humanity, Laredo Stroke Support, and the Laredo Chamber of Commerce; he is truly deserving of recognition for his many contributions to his profession and his community; now, therefore, be it

profession and his community; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend David T. Newman on his many achievements and extend congratulations to him on his induction into the Junior Achievement of Laredo Business Hall of Fame; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate