SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 555

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the eighth class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program, conducted by the Senate Hispanic Research Council and named in memory of Senator Gregory Luna of San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, A true champion for the underrepresented and underserved in Texas, Senator Luna dedicated his life to public service and fought for educational equity; and

WHEREAS, A tribute to Senator Luna's admirable work in the Senate, this prestigious program was created to provide professional opportunities for undergraduate and graduate-level students from across the state to gain invaluable experience by serving as full-time legislative assistants in the Texas Senate and acquire the skills necessary to become successful leaders for our great state; and

WHEREAS, These Scholars and Fellows also coordinated the "East Austin College Prep Day at the Capitol," which provides high school students from East Austin College Prep with an inside look at the legislative process and promotes civic engagement; and

WHEREAS, following The Scholars Fellows and demonstrated outstanding dedication and achievement in Senate offices: Lissette Almanza from Houston, serving in the office of State Senator John Whitmire; Joshua Baca from El Paso, serving in the office of Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick; Marcos Daniel Bustamante from Corpus Christi, serving in the office of State Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa; Daniela Fragoso from Brownsville, serving in the office of State Senator José Rodríguez; Jessica Lisseth Herrera from Spring, serving in the office of State Senator Royce West; Selena Keshav from Pflugerville, serving in the office of State Senator Judith Zaffirini; Christopher LeSuer from Erie, Pennsylvania, serving in the office of State Senator Eddie Lucio; Gabby Marquez from El Paso, serving in the office of State Senator Carlos Uresti; Christian Louis Umbria Smith from The Colony, serving in the office of State Senator Jose Menéndez; Thomas Ray Treviño Jr. from Houston serving in the office of State Senator Sylvia Garcia; Christopher Vela from Edinburg, serving in the office of State Senator Kirk Watson; and Michelle Willoughby from North Richland Hills, serving in the office of State Senator Kel Seliger; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the eighth class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program for their remarkable service and outstanding work this session and wish them continued success as they prepare to become the future leaders of our great state; and, be it further

S.R. No. 555

 ${\tt RESOLVED},$ That a copy of this Resolution be presented to the Scholars and Fellows as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Rodríguez

Garcia Hinojosa Menéndez Uresti Watson West Whitmire Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 16, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate