SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 561

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Ann S. Bishop, who is retiring as executive director of the Employees Retirement System of Texas after a long and distinguished career in public service; and

WHEREAS, Ann Bishop is a veteran of state government who has served as deputy comptroller of public accounts and was the first director of the Department of Information Resources when it was created in 1989; she served as chief of staff to Governor Rick Perry from November of 2012 to February of 2013; and

WHEREAS, She was appointed the executive director of the Employees Retirement System of Texas in 2004; since that time, she has overseen programs that provide retirement, deferred compensation, and flexible benefits for more than 225,000 state employees and retirees; and

WHEREAS, Under her exemplary guidance, the retirement system has successfully negotiated cost-saving contracts and tapped new technology to deliver quality benefits at a reasonable cost; and

WHEREAS, She has distinguished herself as a state administrator and is a recipient of the prestigious Bob Bullock Award for Outstanding Public Stewardship; she is an active supporter of the Executive Women in Texas Government, and she has provided mentorship and career training for a variety of programs; and

WHEREAS, Ann Bishop has handled her far-reaching responsibilities with exceptional skill and dedication, and she deserves credit for the retirement system's long-term success; her presence at the Employees Retirement System of Texas will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Ann S. Bishop on her exceptional career and on her many contributions to our state and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 14, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate