SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 627

WHEREAS, The year 2015 marks the 35th anniversary of the founding of Young Conservatives of Texas, and the Texas Senate is pleased to recognize this significant milestone in the organization's history; and

WHEREAS, A group of 177 students met in Austin at the Stephen F. Austin Hotel on Texas Independence Day, March 2, 1980, to establish Young Conservatives of Texas; and

WHEREAS, A nonpartisan and independent youth organization, Young Conservatives of Texas was founded to attract students who believe in a conservative philosophy of government and to afford those students the opportunity to participate effectively in the political process; and

WHEREAS, Young Conservatives of Texas is dedicated to promoting its Statement of Principles, including the beliefs that the Constitution was instituted for the protection of God-given rights, that the American system of Federalism, describing limited government and state sovereignty, serves to protect those rights, that economic freedom and the free enterprise system are essential to liberty, and that the aim of American foreign policy should be the protection of the freedom of the American people; and

WHEREAS, For three and a half decades, Young Conservatives of Texas has served as a strong force on college campuses throughout the state, regularly hosting speakers and events representing a wide range of conservative thought; and

WHEREAS, The organization is well known for inspiring young people in our state to become involved in politics, for maintaining an active presence as a lobby at the Texas Legislature, and for placing alumni in all levels of government and public policy, including the Texas Legislature and Congress; and

WHEREAS, Young Conservatives of Texas also maintains a long running and respected set of legislative ratings that assess the actions of members of the Texas Legislature according to their adherence to conservative principles; and

WHEREAS, The group successfully advocates for conservative candidates during both primary and general elections, through block walking, phone banks, straw polls, and contributions through its political action committee; moreover, it was instrumental in the election of both Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick and Attorney General Ken Paxton during the past election cycle; and

WHEREAS, Young Conservatives of Texas has benefited from the dedicated leadership of 23 state chairmen: Steve Munisteri (1980), Gary Nelson (1981), Greg Robertson (1982), Frank Reilly Stockman (1982-1986), Richard Munisteri (1987), Steve (1987-1988), Paul Bartley (1988-1989), Sharin Shafer (1990-1991), Scott Gaille (1991-1992), Andy Panos (1992-1993), Shawn Roberts (1993), David Guenthner (1994), Robert Johnson (1994-1996), Robert Means (1996-1997), Fred Tate (1997-1999), Liz Farrell (1999), Brent Tantillo (2000), Chris Allen Liz Farrell (2001-2003), (2003-2005), David Rushing Randy Samuelson (2005-2006), White David (2006-2009), Elizabeth White (2009-2011), and Jeff Morris (2011-Present); and

S.R. No. 627

WHEREAS, The group has many notable alumni, including former Republican Party of Texas Chairman Steve Munisteri, United States Senator Rand Paul, United States Congressman Jeb Hensarling, and former United States Congressman Steve Stockman; and

WHEREAS, The members of Young Conservatives of Texas have consistently worked hard to promote the conservative principles in which they believe, and they have contributed their time and energy to many political campaigns; on March 2, 2015, they celebrated their group's numerous achievements during the past three and a half decades; now, therefore, be it

three and a half decades; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th
Legislature, hereby commemorate the 35th anniversary of Young
Conservatives of Texas and extend to its members sincere best
wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Perry

Bettencourt Birdwell Burton Campbell Estes	Hall Hancock Huffines	Kolkhorst Nelson Schwertner Taylor of Galveston Taylor of Collin
--	-----------------------------	--

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 27, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate