SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 666

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Paul Kent McGaha, who is retiring after 27 years of outstanding service with the Texas Department of State Health Services; and

WHEREAS, Dr. McGaha earned his medical degree from the College of Osteopathic Medicine at Oklahoma State University, and he holds a master's degree in public health from The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston; and

WHEREAS, He began his career with the department in 1988 as a public health physician in Tyler, and he became regional medical director of Health Service Region 4 and 5 North in 1995; he has been instrumental in leading collaborative efforts between the department and local health departments and authorities, academic institutions, and health care providers, especially those offering services to underserved populations; and

authorities, academic institutions, and health care providers, especially those offering services to underserved populations; and WHEREAS, Over the course of his distinguished career in medicine, Dr. McGaha has been noted for his expertise in the fields of public health service delivery and preventive medicine, and he has been published in numerous professional journals; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary physician and administrator, he is respected and admired by his colleagues, and his presence at the Texas Department of State Health Services will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Paul Kent McGaha on his exceptional service to the people of Texas with the Texas Department of State Health Services and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Eltife

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 30, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate