SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 677

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at San Antonio men's tennis team achieved great distinction by winning the Conference USA Tournament Championship on April 19, 2015, at Folkes-Stevens Tennis Center in Norfolk, Virginia; and

WHEREAS, The Roadrunners captured the title with a 4-2 victory over Rice University in the tournament final; Tito Moreiras, Tomas Stillman, and Diogo Casa posted singles wins for the university, while the teams of Mr. Casa and Yannick Junger and Jake Rother and Joel Rubio were triumphant in doubles matches; also competing for the Roadrunners was Joao Riquelme; and

WHEREAS, Ably guided by head coach Jeff Kader, the team improved its overall record to 17 wins against 8 defeats in claiming the school's first tournament crown since 2012; with the victory, the Roadrunners have secured a berth in the National Collegiate Athletic Assocation Championship tournament in May; and

WHEREAS, Demonstrating great skill and an unwavering dedication to excellence, the talented student-athletes of the University of Texas at San Antonio men's tennis team have proven themselves to be the finest squad in Conference USA, and they may indeed reflect with pride on their outstanding accomplishment; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby congratulate The University of Texas at San Antonio men's tennis team on winning the Conference USA Tournament and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for success at the National Collegiate Athletic Assocation Championships; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Menéndez

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 4, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate