SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 681

WHEREAS, The Texas Public Policy Foundation hosted the grand opening of its new headquarters near the State Capitol in Austin on April 21, 2015; and

WHEREAS, A \$20 million, six-story facility, the Michael S. Stevens Building is named in honor of a longtime board member who passed away in 2008; Mr. Stevens was instrumental in shaping the debate on tax reform, tort reform, transportation, and other vital issues, and he played a key role in the tremendous growth of the foundation; in 2014, it celebrated a quarter-century of dedication to the mission of promoting liberty, personal responsibility, and free enterprise; and

WHEREAS, This splendid edifice provides the organization with state-of-the-art infrastructure, and at approximately 42,000 square feet, it encompasses six times more space than the previous offices across the street; its many notable features, named after prominent Texans, include the Joe B. Hogsett Theater, the Red McCombs Event Center, and the Governor Rick Perry Liberty Balcony, which offers magnificent wraparound views of the Capitol and the downtown streetscape; and

WHEREAS, Designed to serve as the "epicenter of liberty," the Michael S. Stevens Building is an imposing new landmark on Congress Avenue, and it is truly a pleasure to join in marking this occasion; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby congratulate the Texas Public Policy Foundation on the grand opening of its new headquarters and

1

S.R. No. 681

extend to the organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the foundation as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Burton

Bettencourt	
Birdwell	
Campbell	
Creighton	

Patrick, President of the Senate

Estes

Hancock

Hall

President of the Senate

Kolkhorst

Taylor of Collin

Nelson Perry

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 4, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate