SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 686

In Memory of Daniel Raymond Beck

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of La Grange and Flatonia in mourning the loss of Daniel Raymond Beck, who died April 12, 2015, at the age of 70; and

Beck, who died April 12, 2015, at the age of 70; and
WHEREAS, Dan Beck was born on February 18, 1945, in Shiner,
and he graduated from Flatonia High School in 1962; he earned a
bachelor's degree in government from Southwest Texas State
College and a doctor of jurisprudence degree from The University
of Texas School of Law; and

WHEREAS, Between 1969 and 1981, Mr. Beck practiced law in Flatonia and La Grange; he also served Fayette County for many years as a justice of the peace, a county attorney, and a county judge; he was elected District Judge of the 155th Judicial District Court in 1991, and he served in this position until his retirement in 2010; he was committed to improving people's lives and was instrumental in establishing a mental health program for those accused of crime who suffered from mental illness; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Beck was an avid supporter of youth sports programs and was proud to have managed and coached several baseball teams in the region; he was a member of Sacred Heart Catholic Church and was active in numerous civic organizations, and he enjoyed backyard carpentry and designing walking sticks; and

WHEREAS, A devoted husband, father, and grandfather, Dan Beck was beloved by many, and he leaves behind memories that will long be cherished by all who were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Daniel Raymond Beck; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dan Beck.

Kolkhorst

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 4, 2015, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate