SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 724

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Wanda Heath Johnson, who is retiring after many years of exceptional service as an educator; and

WHEREAS, Wanda Johnson earned her degrees from Texas Southern University while working full time for the United States Postal Service in Galena Park; after earning a master's degree in elementary education, she began her teaching career as an art instructor at Houston Community College; and

WHEREAS, She later joined the faculty at Scroggins Elementary School in Houston to follow her dream of teaching young children; during her tenure as a teacher of third and fourth graders at the school, she also served as a behavior adjustment teacher, a computer technologist, and an instructional coordinator; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Johnson went on to serve the Houston Independent School District in numerous capacities and became known as a mentor for other teachers; she was twice named Teacher of the Year at Scroggins Elementary School and received the prestigious H-E-B Teacher of the Year Award; she is currently serving as president of the Galena Park Independent School District Board of Trustees and is the first African American woman to hold that post; and

WHEREAS, Wanda Johnson has had a profound influence on the lives of several generations of students due to her skillful teaching methods, her sincere concern for the individual, and her wise counsel and encouragement; now, therefore, be it

wise counsel and encouragement; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Wanda Heath Johnson on her commitment to excellence in education and on her outstanding career as a teacher and extend to her best wishes for continued success in all her endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Garcia

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 6, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate