SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 731

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the citizens of San Antonio in celebrating the 20th anniversary of the San Antonio Central Library; and

WHEREAS, The voters of San Antonio in 1989 approved a \$28 million bond package to build a new central library facility for the city, and an additional \$10 million was raised by the Library Foundation to fund such upgrades as new computer equipment, additional materials, and contemporary artwork; and

WHEREAS, Noted Mexican architect Ricardo Legorreta was chosen to lead the design team in partnership with the San Antonio firms of Sprinkle Robey Architects and Johnson-Dempsey and Associates; construction began in 1993, and on May 20, 1995, this striking new facility opened its doors to the public; and

WHEREAS, Rising six stories in the heart of downtown San Antonio, the San Antonio Central Library represents a bold departure from traditional library design; interior schemes were done by the San Antonio firm of Ford, Powell and Carson, and numerous pieces of artwork were specially created for the library; this brightly colored institution truly stands out, and its innovative design promotes the idea of the library as a place to gather, relax, and enjoy the world of ideas; and

WHEREAS, The opening of the new San Antonio Central Library played an important role in introducing a Latin American orientation to the city's architecture, and it is truly fitting that the library's contributions to the cultural fabric of the city receive special recognition; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby extend to the staff and patrons of the San Antonio Central Library best wishes for a memorable 20th anniversary celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the library as a memento of this special occasion.

Menéndez

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 7, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate