SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 741

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Jordan Spieth on the occasion of his record-setting victory in the 2015 Masters golf tournament; and

WHEREAS, Jordan Spieth won this prestigious event in just his second attempt with a score of 18 under par 270, tying the record for lowest score in the tournament's history; at 21 years of age, he is the second-youngest golfer ever to have won the Masters, one of golf's four major championships; and

WHEREAS, A native of Dallas, Jordan demonstrated his potential for great success at a young age by becoming one of only two golfers to win multiple United States Junior Amateur championships; he went on to attend The University of Texas at Austin, where he led the Longhorns to the 2012 National Collegiate Athletic Association national championship; he won his first professional tournament at the age of 19, becoming the youngest golfer to win a tour event since 1931; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his historic Masters win, he tied or established numerous records; he was the first golfer in the tournament's history to reach a score of 19 under par, and his 28 birdies set a new Masters record; he was the first to lead the tournament all four days since 1976, and he set 36-hole and 54-hole scoring records; and

WHEREAS, Jordan has risen to number two in the Official World Golf Ranking; he is incredibly popular among golf fans and his fellow competitors alike, and it is truly fitting that he receive special recognition as he achieves this milestone in his career; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 741

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Jordan Spieth on his hard work and dedication and extend congratulations to him on winning the 2015 Masters; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Huffines, Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 8, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate