SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 746

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Terry G. McCoy, who is retiring as Austin deputy district engineer with the Texas Department of Transportation on June 30, 2015, after more than 27 years of exceptional service; and

WHEREAS, Mr. McCoy began his career with the department as a summer employee and full-time engineering technician with the Burnett Area Office; after completing the department's master's degree program, he worked his way through the ranks in the Design Division in the Austin and San Antonio Districts; he became the North Travis Area engineer in 2004, and in 2011, he accepted the position of director of Transportation Planning and Development for the Austin District; and

WHEREAS, Mr. McCoy has served as Austin deputy district engineer since January of 2013; in this capacity, he has directed the planning, design, construction, and maintenance of countless projects and roadways; and

WHEREAS, He has played a key role in pursuing greater mobility and safety for the Interstate 35 corridor, and his expertise and cooperative work with elected officials, partners, stakeholders, and citizens has had a significant impact on shaping the state transportation system; and

WHEREAS, Terry McCoy has served the Texas Department of Transportation with distinction; his brilliant technical ability and exemplary leadership have led to broad-scale improvements to Texas highways, and his presence at the department will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Terry G. McCoy on his outstanding career with the Texas Department of Transportation and on his many contributions to the state and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 11, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate