SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 796

WHEREAS, Collin County justice of the peace John Edward Payton has been named the recipient of the 2015 John McVeigh Award from the Collin County Republican Party; and

WHEREAS, Named for former Melissa justice of the peace and Republican Party stalwart John King McVeigh, this lifetime achievement award is presented annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the Collin County Republican Party; and

WHEREAS, A resident of the county since 1989, Judge John Payton became the justice of the peace for Precinct 3, Place 2, in January 1991; he was only 18 years old at the time, earning a long-standing record in the *Guinness Book of World Records* as the

youngest person ever elected as a judge; and WHEREAS, In the 24 years since, Judge Payton has presided over and managed a total of 174,000 cases and each year supervises more than 10,000 hours of community service by youthful offenders; he is known for his creative handling of truancy cases, offering troubled young people a second chance through counseling and by impressing upon them the need to take personal responsibility for their actions; and

WHEREAS, Judge Payton has served as president of two North Texas professional associations as well as a civic group dedicated to community service, and he has been recognized by the Plano Independent School District as a Centennial Hero; and

WHEREAS, For nearly a quarter of a century, John Payton has distinguished himself as an elected official while working tirelessly in behalf of his political ideals, and he is truly deserving of this prestigious award; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th

Legislature, hereby congratulate Collin County justice of the peace John Edward Payton for receiving the John McVeigh Award from the Collin County Republican Party and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared

for Judge Payton as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Taylor of Collin

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 12, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate