SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 806

In Memory of Robert Burns McLeaish Jr.

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of McAllen in mourning the loss of Robert Burns McLeaish Jr., who died April 21, 2015, at the age of 92; and

WHEREAS, Bob McLeaish was born January 20, 1923, in Galveston, and he graduated from Los Fresnos High School; he earned an accounting degree at Texas A&M University and a law degree at The University of Texas, where he was president of the Student Bar Association; and

WHEREAS, He served with distinction as a fighter pilot in the United States Marine Corps during World War II and earned the rank of Lieutenant Colonel; among his many commendations, he was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross; and

WHEREAS, Mr. McLeaish worked for many years as the Hidalgo County Auditor, and he later opened up a private practice in McAllen, where he focused on bankruptcy law; he was active in Democratic politics, and in 1988, he served as an alternate delegate to the Democratic National Convention; and

WHEREAS, He was a loving family man who shared 54 years of marriage with Penny Payte McLeaish, and they were blessed with five children and two grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Mr. McLeaish was a man of spiritual devotion who was a longtime member of Our Lady of Sorrows Catholic Church, and he was respected throughout the community for his civic

1

S.R. No. 806

contributions; he was beloved by many, and he leaves behind memories that will long be cherished by all who were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Robert Burns McLeaish Jr.; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Bob McLeaish.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 13, 2015, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate