SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 990

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the B. L. Gray Junior High School chess team for their recent achievements at the National Junior High Chess Championships; and

WHEREAS, The National Junior High Chess Championships took place April 24 through 26, 2015, in Louisville, Kentucky; skilled players from across the nation took part in the prestigious event; and

WHEREAS, The B. L. Gray Junior High School chess team demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year, and members earned a fifth-place ranking in the K-9 Under 1,250 division of the tournament; team members are Daniel Alfaro, David Garza, Joseph Golez, Carson Griffith, Robert Gump, Eduardo Heredia, Ethan Inocondo, David Johnson, Carlos Lopez, Angel Morales, Juan Peña, Emiliano Perez, Caleb Utter, and Matthew Vaughn; and

WHEREAS, Members of the B. L. Gray Junior High School chess team have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline, and they can take pride in their outstanding accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, B. L. Gray Junior High School, the Sharyland Independent School District, and the City of Mission are proud of these talented students for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th
Legislature, hereby congratulate the members of the B. L. Gray
Junior High School chess team on placing fifth in the K-9 Under
1,250 division of the National Junior High Chess Championship
competition; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 26, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate