SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1018

WHEREAS, Trinity University athletes capped a stellar season filled with memorable performances by winning the 2015 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Presidents' Trophy; and

WHEREAS, Since the conference's inaugural year in 1962-1963, the coveted Presidents' Trophy, a 300-pound railroad bell, has been presented for a year-long display to the conference school whose combined men's and women's athletics program has accumulated the highest points total in the all-sports race by the end of the academic year; and

WHEREAS, During the 2014-2015 season, Trinity University clinched 10 of 18 championships in conference-sponsored events, including men's and women's soccer, swimming and diving, tennis, and track and field, as well as volleyball and baseball; that remarkable feat represents only the eighth time in league history that a school has won 10 or more titles in a single year, with Trinity University accomplishing that feat on seven of those eight occasions; closing this season with a total score of 535 points, the university attained the singular distinction of earning its fourth consecutive and 15th overall Presidents' Trophy; and

WHEREAS, This year's crop of Trinity University Tigers has greatly advanced the school's record for athletic excellence, and their achievements will be a source of tremendous pride to the institution's students, faculty, alumni, and supporters for years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby congratulate Trinity University on its receipt of the 2015 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Presidents' Trophy and extend to the school's athletes and coaches sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Trinity University as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Menéndez

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 27, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate