Suspending limitations on conference committee jurisdiction, H.B. No. 1842

By: Taylor of Galveston

S.R. No. 1066

SENATE RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, That Senate Rule 12.03 be suspended in part as provided by Senate Rule 12.08 to enable the conference committee appointed to resolve the differences on House Bill 1842 (public school accountability, including the intervention in and sanction of a public school that has received an academically unsuccessful performance rating for at least two consecutive school years and the designation of a school district as a district of innovation) to consider and take action on the following matter:

Senate Rule 12.03(4) is suspended to permit the committee to add text on a matter which is not included in either the house or senate version of the bill in proposed SECTION 12 of the bill, in added Section 39.107(g-1), Education Code, to read as follows:

of a campus under Subsection (d)(2), the school district shall execute a contract with a managing entity for a term not to exceed five years. The commissioner may require a district to extend the term of the contract if the commissioner determines that extending the contract on expiration of the initial term is in the best interest of the students attending the campus. The terms of the contract must be approved by the commissioner. If a campus receives an academically unacceptable performance rating for two consecutive school years after the managing entity

assumes management of the campus, the commissioner shall cancel the contract with the managing entity.

Explanation: This change is necessary to ensure that the commissioner of education may require a school district to extend the term of a contract with a managing entity for the alternative management of a campus if the commissioner determines the extension is in the best interest of the students attending the campus.

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 31, 2015, by the following vote: Yeas 26, Nays 5.

Secretary of the Senate