SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1072

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Hudson Bradley and Ben Martinson for their inspirational display of sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, Hudson Bradley and Ben Martinson are members of the basketball team at Vanguard College Preparatory School in Waco, and their team was scheduled to play a game against the Gainesville Tornadoes, a team comprised of detainees at the state's juvenile correction facility for felony offenders; and

WHEREAS, Hudson and Ben realized that the Tornadoes would have no rooting section at their upcoming game, and recognizing the inherent unfairness of the situation, they decided to create a fan section for the Tornadoes; despite the fact that their own team would lose its clear advantage in this situation, they persuaded their fellow students to put together a group of fans to cheer for the Tornadoes; and

WHEREAS, The students at Vanguard College Preparatory School designated half of the game's crowd as a cheering section for the Tornadoes, complete with signs and cheerleaders; the Tornadoes, unaware before the game of the efforts that had been made on their behalf, were surprised to find they had their own fans and were inspired as more and more of the crowd increasingly rooted for their success; and

WHEREAS, The actions of Hudson Bradley and Ben Martinson embody the true spirit of sportsmanship and demonstrate the potential of athletics to bring people together; it is truly fitting that they receive special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Hudson Bradley and Ben Martinson on their awareness of the needs of others and their sense of justice and fair play and extend to them best wishes for success in all their future endeavors; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 1, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate