SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1073

WHEREAS, It is with great pride that the Texas Senate has selected both a very special employee, Sharon Scarborough, and the outstanding staff of Senate Media Services as the 2015 administrative recipients of the Betty King Public Service Award; and

WHEREAS, One of the Senate's most loyal and respected employees, Sharon exemplifies the best in Senate service, and during her long and productive tenure of more than 22 years, she has earned the admiration and affection of the senators and her Capitol colleagues; and

WHEREAS, In 1993, she joined the proofing department of Senate Engrossing and Enrolling, where she served with distinction and was the assistant proofing supervisor; she became interim director of Senate Media Services in 2001 and was named director in 2002, and she has been in charge of a dedicated team that has portrayed the story of the Texas Senate through photographs and videos of the highest quality; and

WHEREAS, Known for their high standards and attention to detail, Sharon and the media staff members produce the Senate's audio and video news releases and photograph senators and action on the Senate floor; they maintain the video recording systems in the Senate Chamber and committee rooms, and they have a long-established reputation for carrying out their duties proficiently and with dedication and enthusiasm; and

WHEREAS, As head of the department, Sharon has distinguished herself as an effective team leader who is known as much for the courtesy with which she treats others as for her organizational and professional strengths, and she and the Media

Services staff have faced difficult and demanding hours with remarkable composure and focus on task; and

WHEREAS, Sharon is a much-cherished and highly respected Senate employee, and she and all of the staff members of Media Services are most deserving of their selection as administrative recipients of the prestigious Betty King Public Service Award; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend Sharon Scarborough and the entire staff of Senate Media Services on their invaluable contributions to the Texas Senate and extend to them congratulations on earning a 2015 Betty King Public Service Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as a tribute to their excellent work.

T T			1
ロっゃ	\sim	\sim	1 -
Han	(. ()(.	ĸ
11011			

Bettencourt Hall Birdwell Hinojosa Burton Huffines Campbell Huffman Creighton Kolkhorst Ellis Lucio Eltife Menéndez Estes Nelson Fraser Nichols Garcia Perry	Rodríguez Schwertner Seliger Taylor of Galveston Taylor of Collin Uresti Watson West Whitmire Zaffirini
--	---

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 1, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate