SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1074

WHEREAS, It is a pleasure for the Texas Senate to honor a treasured staff member, Elizabeth "Bitsy" Rice, by naming her the 2015 legislative recipient of the Betty King Public Service Award; and

WHEREAS, Bitsy Rice joined Senator Nelson's staff in 2009; she serves as the senator's scheduler, a position that entails a wide variety of responsibilities; and

WHEREAS, Noted for her kindness and her gracious manner, Bitsy is beloved by her colleagues, and during her six years of employment, she has served the Senate with distinction; Bitsy handles her responsibilities with dedication and skill, and she is held in highest regard by legislators and by staff members throughout the Capitol; and

WHEREAS, She is a true team leader who approaches her duties with a positive attitude and a cheerful spirit; during the 2015 session, she has given invaluable assistance to the novice schedulers in other Senate offices by helping them to understand the details of the scheduling process and the scope of their responsibilities; she addressed their concerns with respect and the utmost patience, and she became a cherished mentor who helped them to gain confidence in facing the challenges of their new positions; and

WHEREAS, A role model for anyone in public service, Bitsy is known for her warm and genial personality and her ability to accomplish whatever mission is set before her; her high standards and commitment to excellence represent the finest qualities of this institution; and

WHEREAS, Bitsy's ready smile and her ability to maintain composure, even in the midst of the turmoil of a legislative session, endear her to all who know and work with her; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby extend to Elizabeth "Bitsy" Rice sincere appreciation for her outstanding service to the Texas Senate and congratulations on earning a 2015 Betty King Public Service Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hancock
Dodrámos

Bettencourt	Hall	Rodríguez
Birdwell	Hinojosa	Schwertner
Burton	Huffines	Seliger
Campbell	Huffman	Taylor of Galveston
Creighton	Kolkhorst	Taylor of Collin
Ellis	Lucio	Uresti
Eltife	Menéndez	Watson
Estes	Nelson	West
Fraser	Nichols	Whitmire
Garcia	Perry	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 1, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate