MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, February 19, 2015 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, February 19, 2015, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Van Taylor, Vice Chair Senator Konni Burton Senator Craig Estes Senator José Rodríguez Senator Kirk Watson Senator Troy Fraser

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following member arrived after the roll was called: Senator José Rodríguez

Chairman Birdwell moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on February 12, 2015; without objection, it was so ordered.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Nelson to introduce her constituent Robert L. Albritton, nominee to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Watson to introduce his constituent Commissioner David C. Mattax, nominated to be the next Commissioner of Insurance, to the committee.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, February 19, 2015 Page 2

Commissioner Mattax made an opening statement and answered questions from the members of the committee.

Senator Taylor moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Commissioner David Calvin Mattax to be the next Commissioner of Insurance. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Huffines to introduce his constituent William "Bill" Mahomes, Jr., nominee to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell called Jerry Strickland, nominated to be the next Director of the Office of State-Federal Relations, to the table. Mr. Strickland made an opening statement and answered questions from the members of the committee.

Chairman Birdwell moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Jerry D. Strickland to be the next Director to the Office of State-Federal Relations. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Campbell, who provided comments of support for her constituent, Jerry D. Strickland, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell called Robert Albritton and William Mahomes to the table. The nominees to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents made opening statements and answered questions from the members of the committee.

Chairman Birdwell mentioned to the committee that he had waived the appearance of Phillip Adams, who was re-nominated to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents. Mr. Adams was confirmed by the Senate in 2001 and in 2009.

The nominees to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents were left pending before the committee.

At 9:48 a.m., Senator Taylor moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Page 3

| Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair |
|-------------------------------|
| |
| |
| Inga Dedow, Clerk |