WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to
  recognize Janice Stalder on the occasion of her retirement from
  the Copperas Cove Independent School District and to
  congratulate her on being named the district's Secondary Teacher
  of the Year; and
         WHEREAS, Jan Stalder began her career in education at
  Southwest Texas State University in 1969; she has been a
  classroom teacher for the last 45 years at Copperas Cove High
  School, where she has served as an English teacher, a debate
  coach, a University Interscholastic League coordinator, a
  history teacher, a newspaper and literary magazine advisor, and
  an advanced placement and dual-credit instructor; and
         WHEREAS, She is affectionately known by her students as
  "the Dragon Lady," which she was nicknamed due to her rigorous
  curriculum that thoroughly prepared them for college-level
  courses; and
         WHEREAS, A truly exceptional teacher, Jan instilled in her
  students a love of learning and armed them with the skills needed
  to compete in the world of tomorrow; many of her pupils have moved
  on to become leaders in their fields and to serve the local
  community as administrators and elected officials; and
         WHEREAS, Jan Stalder is a beloved educator who has had a
  positive influence on the lives of innumerable young people, and
  it is indeed fitting that she is being honored for her many
  contributions to the citizens of Copperas Cove; now, therefore,
  be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th
  Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Janice Stalder
  on her exemplary teaching career and extend to her best wishes in
  all her future endeavors; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her
  as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on July 24, 2017.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate