H.C.R. No. 26

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Margana Wood of Houston was crowned Miss Texas at
 the Eisemann Center in Richardson on July 1, 2017; and

3 WHEREAS, Competing as Miss Travis County, Margana Wood 4 captured the state title with her exceptional performances in the 5 interview, swimsuit, talent, evening gown, and on-stage question 6 portions of the contest; prior to this triumph, she won local 7 competitions held by the Miss America Organization and the Miss 8 Houston/Miss Harris County/Sugarland Organization; and

9 WHEREAS, During her reign as Miss Texas, Ms. Wood will work 10 with such notable groups as the Special Olympics, the Laura Bush 11 Foundation for America's Libraries, Susan G. Komen, the Little 12 Words Project, and the Children's Miracle Network; in concert with 13 the Texas Cares for Children character education program, she will 14 also help to promote the values of inclusion and respect, which are 15 integral to her anti-bullying platform, "You Belong"; and

16 WHEREAS, An alumna of The University of Texas at Austin, 17 Ms. Wood holds a bachelor's degree in corporate communications; she 18 plans to continue her education at the graduate level using the 19 scholarship she received from the Miss Texas pageant; and

20 WHEREAS, Margana Wood has demonstrated a desire to excel in 21 all her endeavors, and her talent and perseverance in the pursuit of 22 her goals are sure to serve her well in the years ahead; now, 23 therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the 85th Legislature of the State of Texas,

1

1 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Margana Wood on being 2 crowned Miss Texas 2017 and extend to her sincere best wishes for 3 the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Wood as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives and Senate.

Shine

H.C.R. No. 26

H.C.R. No. 26

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.C.R. No. 26

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 26 was adopted by the House on August 9, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 26 was adopted by the Senate on August 10, 2017, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor